Lester and Acome outlast Member Guest Field

August 7, 2017



Pathfinder Bank Flight winners Rick Lester and Hollis Acome birded two of the three holes in the new playoff format to win the overall championship in the 2017 Member Guest Tournament held this past weekend at the Oswego Country Club.


Lester and Acome topped their flight with 75 points.  They were tied going into Sunday's final match with Ryan DeSantis and Chris O'Brien, who they had to play in the finale.  The eventual flight and overall champions won a commanding 13-5 to capture the flight and reach the finals.  Craig Bundy and Dave Compton finished second with 72 points, while Lou Castaldo and Jan Garcia finished third with 70 points.  DeSantis and O'Brien ended up fourth.


Leading wire-to-wire, Dan Dorsey Jr. and Ryan Smith won the Beacon Hotel Flight, with 74 points.  Mike Palmitesso Jr. and Troy Hess finished second with 69 points with Tom Van Schaack and Mark Cuppernull finishing third with 66 points.


Another wire-to-wire finished occurred in the Bowers & Company Flight.  Kyle Ridlon and Will Weimer finished with 79 points to top second place finishers Jack Reynolds and Dan Taylor by nine points. Kevin Dorsey and Ryan Barbeau finished third with 68 points.


In the Chris Carpenter Inc. Flight, Jeff Besio and Jeff Dewey entered the day with a six point lead and had to hold on to defeat former Member-Guest Champions Craig Fitzpatrick and his brother Curt by one point.  Besio & Dewey had 69 to the Fitzpatrick's 68.  John Romeo and Pat Jones' late rally got them third with 66 points.


Leading two other teams by one point early Sunday, Dan Rose and Jim McKenzie scored an impressive 27 out of 36 possible points on the final day to win the Palmer Food Services Flight with 78 points.  Carl Miller and Mark Azzarelli finished second with 73 points, while Rick Godden and Jack Pryor ended up third with 70 points.


Trailing by two points entering the final match, Stan Nalle and Mike Famularo won 14-4 to win the Holiday Inn Express Flight by one point.  Mark Masuicca and Carmen Guinta were second with 82 points and Jan Mileskey and his son John finished third with 66 points.


Josh Flett and Dylan Vaughn easily won the NBT Bank with 82 points.  Joe Conzone and Claude Broadwell were second with 68 points and Tim Stitt and his Tim Jr. were third with 66 points.


Down seven points on the final day, Shawn Baldwin and Justin Hall rallied to top the S.J. Thomas Commercial Contractors Flight with 75 points.  Charlie Ciezeski and Sam Sugar were second with 74 points, with Don Sheehan and Dan Alfieri finishing third with 72 points.


Closest to the pins on day one were Azzarelli (hole 2), Jim Smith (hole 4), Eric Morris (hole 12), and Don Ciciarelli (hole 18).  Day two closest to the pin winners were Marc Ciappa (hole 2), Acome (hole 4), Tom Parker (hole 12), and Joel Robinson (hole 18).  Closest to the pins on day three were Lester (hole 2), Jim Chapman (hole 4), Reynolds (hole 12), and Ken Sturges (hole 18).


Next years event will take place on August 3rd, 4th, and 5th.


Final Standings of each Flight


Beacon Hotel Flight                                     Bower’s & Company Flight

1st-Dan Dorsey Jr./Ryan Smith                    1st- Kyle Ridlon/Will Weimer

2nd-Mike Palmitesso Jr./Troy Hess              2nd-Jack Reynolds/Dan Taylor

3rd-Tom Van Schaack/Mark Cuppernull      3rd- Kevin Dorsey/Ryan Barbeau


Hell Boy-Hell Water Flight                         Palmer Foods Flight

1st-Jeff Besio/ Jeff Dewey                            1st-Dan Rose/Jim McKenzie

2nd-Craig Fitzpatrick/Curt Fitzpatrick         2nd-Carl Miller/Mark Azzarelli

3rd- John Romeo/Pat Jones                          3rd-Rich Godden/Jack Pryor


Holiday Inn Flight                                       NBT Bank Flight

1st-Stan Nalle/Mike Famularo                     1st-Josh Flett/Dylan Vaughn

2nd-Mark Masuicca/Carmen Guinta            2nd-Joe Conzone/Claude Broadwell

3rd-Jan Milesky/John Milesky                     3rd-Tim Stitt Sr./Tim Stitt Jr.


SJ Thomas Construction Flight                 Pathfinder Bank Flight

1st-Shawn Baldwin/Justin Hall                    1st-Rick Lester/Hollis Acome

2nd-Charlie Cieszeski/Sam Sugar                2nd-Craig Bundy/Dave Compton

3rd-Don Sheehan/Dan Alfieri                      3rd-Lou Castaldo/Jan Garcia




Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

3 Champions Crowned

August 14, 2018

Please reload

Recent Posts

August 14, 2018

August 2, 2018